One Week Smoke-Free!

I am officially one week smoke-free! I can’t tell you how happy I am to have made it this far. I have tried many times in the past to quit and given up in frustration after a few days. This time around I have had relatively little desire to smoke at all!

I really think that it’s because this time I timed it to go along with a move towards healthier eating. While for many people trying to lose weight and quit smoking would be torture, for me the two seem to reinforce each other. In the past, an eating binge would trigger a desire to smoke and smoking would trigger a desire to eat. So cutting out both at the same time seems to have short-circuited my little addict’s brain and gotten me around the worst of the cravings.

Even though I am only a week in I can already see a huge difference. I don’t wake up hacking and coughing in the morning. I don’t wake up in the middle of the night wheezing like an asthmatic. My sense of smell seems to be waking up and speaking of smells… I don’t stink like an ashtray anymore.

I have to protect this quit. It’s going down easy and that might never happen again.

Onward to week two!

Leave a Reply

